Cary Chamber Awards $27,000 to Western Wake Teachers

Story by Hal Goodtree. Photo courtesy of the Cary Chamber of Commerce.

Cary, NC – Here’s a good-news story: The Cary Chamber awarded $27,000 to school teachers in Western Wake County this week.

Smart Business: Investing in Education

An annual program of the Cary Chamber, Honor a Teacher awards 27 teachers a thousand dollars each for exemplary performance in education. The ceremony was held at Booth Amphitheatre in Cary on Monday, May 9.

Smart business leaders know that excellence in education is vital to the long term economic competitiveness of the United States. It’s also key to the future of Cary, preserving our reputation as a good place to live and raise a family. Business leaders in Cary, through Honor a Teacher, have demonstrated their willingness to step forward and do their part.

2011 Honor a Teacher Award Winners

Honor a Teacher is made possible by the generosity of 24 business and community donors. Each donor funds an individual award.

The list of 2011 Honor a Teacher awards shows the award name, the donor, the school and then the teacher.

Discovery Award
Ashworth Family
Green Hope High School
Allyson Lynch

AT&T Peak Performer Award
AT&T – North Carolina
Carpenter Elementary School
Ashley Palermo

Atlantic Tire & Service Award
Atlantic Tire & Service
Weatherstone Elementary School
Terri Stewart

Atlantic Tire & Service Award
Atlantic Tire & Service
West Cary Middle School
Twanna Hancock

BB&T Values in Education Teaching Award
Davis Drive Middle School
Chris Forgione

BlueCross BlueShield North Carolina Outstanding Educator Award
BlueCross BlueShield North Carolina
Highcroft Drive Elementary School
Jennifer Butler

Capital Associates Excellence in Teaching Award
Capital Associates
Adams Elementary School
Paul Regina

YMCA Character Development Award
Cary Family YMCA
Mills Park Elementary School
Diana Hosterman

The Cary Rotary Club “Service Above Self” Teaching Award
Cary Rotary Club
Farmington Woods Elementary School
Lisa Amador

The Cary Rotary Club “Service Above Self” Teaching Award
Cary Rotary Club
Reedy Creek Elementary School
Christine Rahn

Deutsche Bank Global Technology Inc. Outstanding Teacher Award
Deutsche Bank Global Technology Inc.
Davis Drive Elementary School
Rhonda Potts

Doctors Express Urgent Care Excellence Award
Doctors Express Urgent Care
Northwoods Elementary School
Robin Turner

Fidelity Investments Outstanding Teacher Award
Fidelity Investments
Reedy Creek Middle School
Ashley Nelson

Jordan Family Excellence In Teaching Award
G.H. Jordan, III Dev. Co. Inc.
Briarcliff Elementary School
Heather Lilley

Garmin Excellence in Math and Science Award
Garmin International
East Cary Middle School
Kelly D’Amico

The Michael G. Curran Family Foundation Leadership in Teaching Award
The Michael G. Curran Family Foundation
Cary Academy
Robin Edelstein

The Michael G. Curran Family Foundation Leadership in Teaching Award
The Michael G. Curran Family Foundation
Cary High School
Patrick Jessee

Progress Energy Power in Teaching Award
Progress Energy
Turner Creek Elementary School
Kathryn Boone

Clara Knoll Award for Excellence in Teaching
The Pyramid Resource Group, Inc.
Morrisville Elementary School
Elizabeth Ramsey

Rex Healthcare Excellence In Teaching Award
Rex Healthcare
Panther Creek High School
Bonnie Lee O’Connor

Robert G. (Bob) Smith, CPA Excellence in Math Award
Robert G. (Bob) Smith, CPA
Alston Ridge Elementary School
Erika Emelle

SAS Institute Technology in Teaching Award
Mills Park Middle School
Maureen Kasegian

Town of Cary Civic Education Award
Town of Cary
Cary Elementary School
Thomas Teachout

Wachovia A Wells Fargo Company 2011 Teaching Excellence Award
Wachovia A Wells Fargo Company
Kingswood Elementary School
Janice Azevedo

WakeMed Cary Excellence in Teaching Award
WakeMed Cary Hospital
Green Hope Elementary School
Serena Buckner

Teacher Leadership Award
Western Wake Area Principals
Panther Creek High School
Wayne Bragg

Teaching Excellence Award
Worsham Family
Cedar Fork Elementary School
Christine Dahlin

Congratulations to all our award-winning teachers and thanks to the Cary Chamber and the donors who made it possible.