4 Eagle Scouts in Apex


Apex, NC – We’re always interested in Eagle Scout stories. This one’s particularly interesting. Story by Jill Smith.

4 Eagle Scouts in Apex

Four high school seniors have dual celebrations this year. McKay Bleak, Panther High School; Ryan Connor, Derrik Conrad and David Daniel of Apex High School have each graduated high school and earned the coveted rank of Eagle Scout.  At their joint BSA Eagle Court of Honor, they additionally received the Marine Corps League Good Citizenship Award presented by Commandant Andrew Blizzard of the Tar Heel Detachment # 733.

All four young men are members of BSA Troop 131 sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Apex. Each Scout was required to plan, manage and execute an Eagle Project benefitting his community in order to obtain the troop’s highest rank.

The Projects

McKay Bleak’s project’s beneficiary was the Infinity Ballet Studio.  He carried out a significant painting project at the studio.  Bleak said, “I chose the project because the studio owner is a fantastic, hardworking lady who needed help.”

Ryan Connor chose to build bookshelves for the Mariposa School for children with Autism.  The school gained much-needed additional storage and an improved appearance.  Connor stated, “It makes me feel good to have accomplished a difficult project with the help of fellow troop members and friends.”

An outdoor classroom was built by Derrik Conrad at Horton Middle School for his Eagle Project.  Derrik’s mother used to work at Horton. “It feels amazing to have accomplished something meaningful” said Derrik.

David Daniel focused his Eagle Project on providing first aid kits for the Western Wake Crisis Ministry.  The kits are a new and important item the ministry supplies for the needy.

Each of the four Apex Scouts recommend the Eagle Rank challenge to younger Scouts and tout it as the thus-far most difficult and rewarding achievement of their lives.


Photos courtesy of Dr. David Creech.  Pictured (L-R) Mayor Keith Weatherly, Ryan Connor, McKay Bleak, Derrik Conrad, Town Council Members Scott Lassiter, Gene Schulze, and Lance Olive.