Cary Election Results 2015


Cary, NC — Wake County Board of Elections has released preliminary results for Cary’s municipal elections.

Cary Election Results 2015

Three incumbents have been returned to Cary Town Council, according to unofficial results from Wake County Board of Elections.

Mayor Harold Weinbrecht and At-Large Council Member Lori Bush ran unopposed and garnered 95.29% and 95.67% of the votes cast respectively.

Don Frantz, the incumbent in District B, bested a field of two challengers with 60.16%.

In District D, the Council seat had been vacated by Gale Adcock who left to serve in the North Carolina General Assembly. Ken George received the most votes for this district (42.23%) in a crowded field of four. Maria Cervania, who followed him with 28% of votes, is asking for a runoff.

In Cary, if a candidate receives more than 50% of votes, he or she wins. In this election, George’s shortfall to that 50% enabled Cervania, his runner-up, to request a runoff election.

Runoff for District D

Voters who live in District D will vote in the runoff election on November 3, 2015. Early voting will be open from Wednesday, October 28 to Saturday, October 31, 2015 at Herb Young in Downtown Cary. Continue reading CaryCiitzen for updates as we near the runoff election.

Low Voter Turnout

Once again, a municipal election in an off-year (no presidential race) drew little voter interest in Wake County with only 11.01% of registered voters casting a ballot.

Get Full Results

Get the full results of Cary’s 2015 Municipal Election at Wake County Board of Elections.


Story from staff reports. Photo by Hal Goodtree.